CCBHC states selected for integration demo | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

CCBHC states selected for integration demo

December 21, 2016
by Julie Miller, Editor in Chief
| Reprints

On Wednesday, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the selection of eight states for participation in a two-year Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) demonstration program.

The selected states are:

  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania

States have until July 1, 2017, to begin their practical demonstration programs. According to HHS, a key consideration in the final selection of the eight states was the diversity of the geographic areas, including rural and underserved locations.

Once the demonstration is up and running, SAMHSA and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) will evaluate outcomes and costs, with a report expected in December 2017. Designed to improve behavioral health integration, the CCBHCs also will seek to forge new payment models that can be implemented more broadly beyond the demonstration project.

Selected states will be reimbursed through Medicaid for behavioral health treatment, services and supports to Medicaid-eligible beneficiaries using an approved prospective payment system, which is one element that has a lot of states and providers excited. Under the program, payment is derived from the actual cost of providing services. Providers who qualify as CCBHCs can implement evidence-based practices and be assured a payment stream that can effectively compensate for those efforts.

More online

National demo aims to update clinic pay scale