National Council announces recipients of Awards of Excellence | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

National Council announces recipients of Awards of Excellence

January 22, 2014
by Shannon Brys, Associate Editor
| Reprints

The National Council for Behavioral Health (National Council) has announced the honorees of the 2014 National Council Awards of Excellence featuring the Inspiring Hope Awards sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company, the Advocacy Leadership Awards supported by Sunovion Pharmaceuticals, and the Impact Awards. According to the organization’s website, the awards “honor the achievements of individuals with mental illness and addiction disorders; the clinicians and treatment teams that care for them; the advocates and leaders who tell their stories to educate and encourage community support; and the organizations that promote excellence and build healthy communities.” The celebration for these awards will be held in Washington, DC on Tuesday, May 6, 2014., as part of the 2014 National Council Conference.

The honorees are as follows:

Supported by Eli Lilly and Company

Artistic Expression
Bill Protzmann
Music Teacher, Friend to Friend Program, Episcopal Community Services
San Diego, CA

Community Advocacy
Keith Schafer
Director, Missouri Department of Mental Health
Jefferson City, MO

Doc of the Year
Syed Arshad Husain
Medical Director, Pathways Community Health
Clinton, MO

Educational Achievement
Andrew Steward
Graduate Student, University of Denver
Denver, CO

Kenneth Whiddon
Chief Operating Officer, AmerICANWork
St. Simons Island, GA

Integration & Wellness
Lone Star Circle of Care
Georgetown, TX

Mental Health Professional of the Year
Roaya Tyson
Director, Inpatient Services, Gracepoint
Tampa, FL

Peer Specialist of the Year
Clarence Jordan
VP of Wellness and Recovery, ValueOptions
Cordova, TN

Public Education
Muffy Walker
Co-Founder & President, Board of Directors, International Bipolar Foundation
San Diego, CA

Reintegration Lifetime Achievement
Patrick Hendry
Senior Director, Consumer Advocacy, Mental Health America
Alexandria, VA

Rising Star
Ituha Cloud
Certified Peer Support Specialist, InterAct of Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI

Science to Service
Prevention and Recovery in Early Psychosis program
The Felton Institute
San Francisco, CA


Excellence in Behavioral Healthcare Management
Supported by Mental Health Risk Retention Group & Negley Associates
Behavioral Health Response
St. Louis, MO

Excellence in Health Information Technology
Supported by Qualifacts
Behavioral Health Link
Atlanta, GA

Excellence in Addictions Treatment Innovation
Supported by Phoenix House
Horizon Village, Horizon Health Services
Sanborn, NY

Mental Health First Aid Community Impact
Supported by National Council for Behavioral Health, Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene, Missouri Department of Mental Health
Community Counseling Centers of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Visionary Leadership
Supported by Relias Learning
Nancy Paull
CEO, Stanley Street Treatment and Resources
Fall River, MA

Visionary Leadership
David Lloyd
Founder, MTM Services
Holly Springs, NC

Supported by Sunovion Pharmaceuticals

Individual Achievement in Advocacy
Mary Ruiz
President/CEO, Manatee Glens
Bradenton, FL

Organizational Achievement in Advocacy
Texas Council of Community Centers
Austin, TX

Elected Official Service in Advocacy
John Kasich
Governor of the State of Ohio
Columbus, OH