Mental Health Commission of Canada names new board member | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

Mental Health Commission of Canada names new board member

May 23, 2012
by News release
| Reprints

The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) is announcing the appointment of Cindy Stevens, Manitoba's Deputy Minister of Healthy Living, Seniors and Consumer Affairs, to its Board of Directors.

"All Canadians are directly or indirectly affected by mental health problems and illnesses, whether personally or as a family or caregiver who is providing support," says Stevens. "The MHCC is doing important work acting as a catalyst for improving the system and changing attitudes, and I am looking forward to impacting its future direction, which will be further informed by the Mental Health Strategy for Canada."

Stevens has a background in public sector management that spans more than 25 years and has been a senior executive within the Government of Manitoba for 14 years. She has also been the Deputy Minister in the Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism since June 2011.

"Cindy's public sector knowledge and expertise in the area of health and wellness will be a huge asset, particularly as the MHCC increasingly collaborates with provincial governments around the Mental Health Strategy for Canada, which was released last week, and other key priorities," says David Goldbloom, MD, Chair of the MHCC Board of Directors.

Stevens joins Dan Florizone of Saskatchewan as the government representative on the MHCC Board for the provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

The MHCC Board is made up of non-government directors and government-appointed directors from across Canada. It is assisted by eight Advisory Committee Chairs who provide advice to the Board and support to the Commission.