Four leading advocates honored by National Council | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

Four leading advocates honored by National Council

September 18, 2013
by Shannon Brys, Associate Editor
| Reprints

Four exceptional mental health and addiction treatment advocates were recognized earlier this week at a special reception on Capitol Hill with a National Council for Behavioral Health Advocacy Leadership Award.

“We are pleased to honor these individuals and organizations for the tireless effort and remarkable impact they have made,” said Linda Rosenberg, president and CEO of the National Council for Behavioral Health. “We are proud to see the results of their efforts, knowing the importance it has to an untold number of real people in their communities.”

The 2013 Advocacy Leadership Awards are supported by Sunovion Pharmaceuticals and honor both individuals and organizations that have demonstrated exemplary efforts and results in advocating for behavioral health policies that increase access to mental health and substance use services. Award winners each receive a $5,000 grant for the non-profit organization of their choice.

This year’s honorees include:

  • Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota, for Exceptional Individual Achievement in Advocacy
  • The Carter Center Mental Health Program for Outstanding Organizational Leadership in Advocacy
  • Darrell Steinberg, President pro Tempore, California Senate, for Visionary Leadership in Behavioral Health by an Elected Official
  • Ron Brand, former Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Community Mental Health Programs for Lifetime Achievement in Advocacy