Eli Lilly announces 2010 Lilly Reintegration Awards recipients | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

Eli Lilly announces 2010 Lilly Reintegration Awards recipients

October 19, 2010
by Press Release
| Reprints

Indianapolis, IN — For the 14th straight year, Eli Lilly and Company honors mental health professionals and individuals for their exceptional contributions and achievements in helping those battling serious mental illness.

Since 1996, the Lilly Reintegration Awards have recognized approximately 175 individuals and programs in the mental health field. Specifically, the awards honor treatment teams, programs and services that assist those with severe mental illness as they re-enter the community, as well as individuals with bipolar disorder or schizophrenia who provide hope and support to their peers.

"Every year we look forward to the spotlight these awards shine on the most innovative services in supporting people with mental illness," said David Ricks, President of Lilly USA, LLC. "It is these dedicated individuals and strong community programs that make it possible for those living with mental illness to reintegrate into society—to secure jobs, housing, education, all the essentials of a meaningful life."

Ralph Aquila, MD, chairperson of the Awards' independent judging panel, noted his admiration for the program. "We say this every year and it's true: These recipients are the best of the brightest. Their tireless efforts are building the future of our nation's mental healthcare, providing hope and an environment in which to heal."

The independent judging panel, comprised of mental health professionals, reviews the pool of applications and selects the honorees based on the scope and reach of programs, services and achievements. Grants are then awarded to help their particular programs succeed: first place recipients receive a $5,000 grant for their organizations and second place recipients receive a $2,500 grant.

Here is a complete list of the 2010 Lilly Reintegration Awards honorees:

Treatment Team Awards

- Advocacy
1st place - Eleventh Judicial Criminal Mental Health Project; Miami, Florida
2nd place - Morningside-Westside Community Action Corporation; New York, New York

- Clinical Medicine

1st place - Aurora Center for Life Skills; Aurora, Colorado
2nd place - Dual Recovery Program; Toledo, Ohio

- Employment

1st place - The COVA Prisoner Re-entry Initiative; Columbus, Ohio
2nd place - Scripps Mercy A-Visions Program; San Diego, California

- Housing

1st place - BRC Reception Center; New York, New York
2nd place - SMHA Network Housing Office; Norwich, Connecticut

- Social Support

1st place - The Recovery Mall; Lexington, Kentucky
2nd place - CooperRiis Healing Community; Mill Spring, North Carolina

Consumer Awards

- Achievement

1st place - Drew Horn; Freehold, New Jersey

- Artistic Contribution

1st place - Digital Storytelling Workshop Group; Toledo, Ohio