Centerstone Research Institute names Board of Directors | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

Centerstone Research Institute names Board of Directors

November 2, 2010
by Press Release
| Reprints

Bloomington, IN and Nashville, TN — The Centerstone Research Institute (CRI), a not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving mental healthcare through research and information technology, has announced the 12 members of its Board of Directors. These individuals, who have extensive experience in healthcare, business and community leadership, will provide direction and oversight to CRI as it works to links science to clinical service through a variety of community-based projects and research studies.

“Our board members’ guidance and leadership is integral to CRI as we uncover new research-based treatment options for people working to overcome mental health and addiction disorders,” said Dennis Morrison, PhD, CEO of Centerstone Research Institute. “We are excited to welcome our new members and look forward to pursuing innovative solutions in mental healthcare together.”

Centerstone Research Institute board officers named today are as follows:

Steve Bryant (Chair)
Bryant is serving his second term as CRI Chair. He is Executive Director of the Gayle and Bill Cook Center for Entrepreneurship at Ivy Tech Community College in Bloomington, Ind. Bryant is a board member for the Foundation of Monroe County Community Schools and serves on the Life Sciences Advisory Board for Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business. He also is active within the Indiana Health Industry Forum and the Bloomington Life Sciences Partnership. Bryant holds a political science degree from Indiana University.

Joan Sivley (Vice-Chair)
Sivley began her service to Centerstone in 1993 as board member of the company’s predecessor, the Dede Wallace Center. A community leader and retired healthcare executive, Sivley has served in many capacities including chair of the Centerstone Tennessee board of directors, and member of the Advantage Behavioral Health board. She attends Westminster Presbyterian Church and is a member of Nashville Committee on Foreign Relations. Sivley holds a bachelor’s degree from Lipscomb University and a master’s degree from Middle Tennessee State University.

Ken Shidler (Secretary)
Shidler enters his second year as Secretary. He spent much of his career in the supermarket business throughout the U.S., including with the supermarket giant Kroger. After moving to Indiana, he served as Community Branch Director for Consumer Credit Counseling in Bloomington, Ind. He is currently a career counselor at Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business Career Services Office. Shidler holds a bachelor of science in marketing from Indiana University.

“It is a great honor to continue representing CRI as the organization leads cutting-edge research studies that connect science to service,” said Chair Steve Bryant. “My colleagues and I are deeply supportive of CRI’s mission to furnish behavioral healthcare professionals with new insights and innovative treatment options.”

Additional members of the CRI board include:

• Janet Ayers, President of the Ayers Foundation (Nashville, TN)
• Don Buesching, PhD, Director, Epidemiology and Health Services Research Center of Excellence at Eli Lilly and Company (Indianapolis, IN)
• David E. Lawler, DDS, The Center for Sound Sleep (Bloomington, IN)
• Trish Lindler, Senior Vice President of Government Programs for HCA, Inc., (Nashville, TN)
• Tom Mahler, Honeywell Technology Solutions Inc., (Winchester, TN)
• Dennis Morrison, PhD, CEO of CRI (Bloomington, IN)
• Gil Palmer, State Farm Insurance (Columbus, IN)
• Nedda Pollack, Retired banking executive (Lawrenceville, NJ)
• Deborah Taylor Tate, Former Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission, (Nashville, TN)