APA names Jeste new president-elect | Behavioral Healthcare Executive Skip to content Skip to navigation

APA names Jeste new president-elect

March 15, 2011
by News release
| Reprints

Arlington, Va. — The American Psychiatric Association (APA) has chosen Dilip V. Jeste, MD, Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences at the University of California, San Diego, as its next president-elect. He will become president in May 2012.

A Distinguished Life Fellow, Jeste serves on the DSM-5 Task Force and was a founding director of the American Psychiatric Institute for Research and Education.

Jeste is a member of the Institute of Medicine and former president of the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry. His term as president-elect of the APA will begin in May at the conclusion of the APA Annual Meeting when President-elect John Oldham, MD, begins his one-year term as president.

In 1986, Jeste created the NIMH-funded Geriatric Psychiatry program at the University of California, San Diego. The program, now one of the largest of its kind in the United States, focuses on schizophrenia and other psychoses in late life.

At the APA, Jeste has served as vice chair of the Council on Aging, co-chair of the Task Force on Tardive Dyskinesia, and as a member of the Task Force on Research Ethics. Jeste is editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry.

Throughout his career, Jeste has mentored more than 200 young trainees and has devoted research to a wide array of topics such as neuroscience, community psychiatry, schizophrenia, and emotional aging. He is on the Institute of Scientific Information list of most cited authors.

Jeste completed his psychiatry residency at Cornell University, his neurology residency at George Washington University, and a research fellowship at NIMH.

Other successful candidates who will take office at the close of the Annual Meeting include:

  • Roger Peele, MD, Secretary
  • James E. Nininger, MD, Area 2 Trustee
  • James A. Greene, MD, Area 5 Trustee
  • Alik S. Widge, MD, PhD, MIT Trustee

The election also included a referendum objecting to specific changes to maintenance of certification requirements for psychiatry. The referendum failed.

The American Psychiatric Association is a national medical specialty society whose physician members specialize in diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and research of mental illnesses including substance use disorders.

Visit the APA at

www.psych.org and


See also